Instagram remains one of the most popular digital social media platforms for social interactions across the world through the sharing of personal media.
The social platform has an estimated value of $102 billion and is worth five times as much as Snapchat and six times as much as Twitter. Despite the benefits of social networks, most people may become vulnerable as they share a lot of personal information online.
Aside from that obvious reason, here’s how to start by deleting your Instagram account in case you are considering it. You can delete your Instagram account temporarily (deactivation) or permanently.
Deactivating your account is temporary, but whilst it is deactivated, your account, along with your profile, followers and media becomes invisible. Simply log back into your account to restore all of this information and start using Instagram normally again.
However, deleting your Instagram account cannot be undone. When you delete your Instagram account, all of your data, including photos, followers and likes will be erased permanently. Once the account is fully gone, you should be able to use your old username on a new account.
How to temporarily disable your account
- Use a browser to go to Instagram.com (you can’t do it from the application).
- Log in.
- Click on the profile button in the top-right corner.
- Next to your profile picture and user name, select “Edit Profile.”
- Scroll down and select the “Temporarily disable my account” link.
- Select a reason why you are disabling your account.
- Re-enter your password.
- Click on the button that says “Temporarily Disable Account.”
- To reactivate the account, log back into it.
How to delete your Instagram account permanently
- From a browser, go to Instagram’s dedicated page for deleting accounts.
- If you are not logged in, you will have to do so.
- Select your reason for deleting the account.
- Re-enter your password.
- Select the red button stating: “Permanently delete my account.”
- Your account is now gone.
Once you have successfully deleted the account, you will have a month in which the account will be disabled, and you will be able to log into Instagram again and stop the account from being permanently deleted, in case you change your mind.